University of Southern California (USC) Trojans Heisman Trophy Winners – 7 Total Recipients

10 on-line tutoring companies and products to aid rescue your GPA

There have been seven soccer gamers from the College of Southern California (USC) Trojans who’ve received the Heisman Trophy. The seven soccer gamers which have received the seven Heisman awards are as follows:

  • Mike Garrett, a halfback, received in 1965
  • O.J. Simpson, a tailback, obtained the award in 1968
  • Charles White, a working again, accepted the dignity in 1979
  • Marcus Allen in 1981 turned the fourth working again from USC to win the award
  • Carson Palmer was the primary quarterback for the Trojans to win the award when he accepted it in 2002
  • Matt Leinart performed quarterback for the College of Southern California and obtained the Heisman award in 2004
  • Reggie Bush in 2005 was named the fifth USC working again to take residence the award

With a complete of seven Heisman Trophies produced by Southern Cal the establishment of upper studying primarily based in Los Angeles, California is tied for essentially the most obtained by any faculty. Each the College of Notre Dame and Ohio State College every match the spectacular variety of seven trophies by a single faculty. As a result of Ohio State has the excellence of manufacturing the one two time winner in Archie Griffin Notre Dame and the College of Southern California truly stand collectively as the one two schools to provide seven completely different winners.

The Heisman Trophy is known as after soccer pioneer John Heisman and was first bestowed upon Jay Berwanger of the College of Chicago in 1935. Over the a long time the award has turn out to be broadly accepted as essentially the most extremely touted and prestigious particular person accolade within the sport of school soccer. Regardless of the affiliation of the Heisman being given to essentially the most excellent faculty soccer participant, successful the dignity has proved to be no assure {of professional} success.

When it comes to the seven Trojans gamers who’ve had the dignity of successful the Heisman Trophy two of these males transitioned from faculty soccer to the Nationwide Soccer League (NFL) because the primary total picks of the NFL Draft of their respective years. The 2 gamers chosen with the primary choose of the primary spherical in NFL Drafts are Orenthal James (O.J.) Simpson who was taken by the Buffalo Payments in 1969 and Carson Palmer who was chosen with the primary choose of the 2003 NFL Draft by the Cincinnati Bengals.

Regardless of slipping to the quantity 10 total choose by the Los Angeles Raiders in 1982 Marcus Allen joined O.J. Simpson in 2003 as the one two former USC gamers to win Heisman Trophies and be inducted into the Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

Source by Kim Patel

WUD Post

Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *